Hudson Valley Regional EMS Council


The Hudson Valley REMAC is responsible for the development and coordination of the Regional Medical Control System. As a result, all Advanced Life Support (ALS) level EMS personnel and Medical Control Representatives (physicians, physician’s assistants, and nurse practitioners) whom are providing or receiving medical control orders within the Hudson Valley Region, must receive authority to do so. To receive authority to participate in the Regional Medical Control System, EMS personnel and Medical Control Representatives must be properly credentialed.

Important: EMS personnel must have a current NYS DOH ALS Certification and an affiliation with a Hudson Valley REMAC authorized ALS agency to be eligible to take the ALS Credentialing Exam.

Upon successful completion of the credentialing procedure, it is the responsibility of all EMS personnel to maintain their NYS DOH ALS Certification and complete all REMAC required Medical Control Contact Hours.

If at any time a REMAC Credentialed ALS provider’s agency affiliation should change, the ALS provider and agencies involved (previous and new) should immediately notify the Regional office. Regional ALS agencies are responsible for collection of all affiliated ALS personnel’s Medical Control Contact Hours and are required to submit such to the Region for review.

Important: Medical Control Representatives must have a valid NYS issued license or certification to practice as a physician, physician’s assistant, or nurse practitioner and an affiliation with a Hudson Valley REMAC authorized Medical Control Hospital to be eligible to take the Medical Control Credentialing Exam.

Upon successful completion of the credentialing procedure, it is the responsibility of all Medical Control Representatives to update their NYS license/certification and affiliation with the REMAC and complete all REMAC credentialing requirements.

If you are an ALS provider or Medical Control Representative in the Hudson Valley Region, and your information does not appear to be correct on one of the following lists, please contact the Regional Office at: or 845-245-4292.

When you arrive to take your Credentialing Exam, make certain you have the following documents with you:

– Current NYS Provider Card

– Current ACLS Card

– Current CPR Card

– Current PALS Card

We also ask that you provide us with a photo ID, and an Affirmation Letter from your Agency.

MAC Exams are administered Monday thru Friday, 9am until 1pm.

The HVREMSCO MAC Exam consists of five modules:
  • Cardiac
  • Trauma
  • Respiratory & General Medical
  • OB/GYN & Pediatrics
  • General Operations

The majority of the questions are derived directly from the protocols; however, there are a substantial number of questions that refer to the Medical Control Policies and Procedures Manual, as well as the HVREMAC Credentialing Manual.  We cannot emphasize strongly enough how important it is to be intimately familiar with that particular manual.

Each Module is comprised of twenty questions, and each module must be passed with a grade of 90% or better.  All questions are drawn form the Collaborative Protocols and from the HVREMAC Credentialing & CME Policies and Procedures Manual.

Retesting Policy:

1. Candidates who fail the credentialing exam may be eligible for a retest, but not on the same day as their initial examination.
2. Candidates will be issued an Examination Retest Form (with grades) that identify the module(s) the candidate must retest.
3. Authorized agents of the candidate’s sponsoring ALS Agency must reauthorize, in signature, the ability of the candidate to take the credentialing exam.
a. It is incumbent upon the authorizing ALS Agency to ensure that remediation of the provider has occurred prior to reauthorizing the provider to schedule a retest.
4. Candidates having failed of two (2) or less modules during the initial exam will be eligible to schedule a retest with the HVREMSCO office within three (3) business days of their initial exam, providing the provider submits the agency signed form authorizing them to take the retest. The provider will take a different test version of the specific modules that require retest. Failure to successfully complete any/all of the retest modules will be counted as an exam failure.
5. Failure of three (3) or more modules constitutes an exam failure, and the candidate is not eligible for a module-based retest. The provider must schedule an appointment to take the entire certification examination over. The Provider will not be scheduled for this exam for a minimum of five (5) business days from the date of the initial failure, and only after the submission of the signed form authorizing the schedule of the retest.
6. Candidates who have failed any retest are not eligible for a new examination for thirty (30) days from the date of their failed retest. Failure of any re-test will deem the Provider ineligible for a new certification examination until the authorizing agency submits detailed documentation of remediation, and a new letter of authorization.